County of champions: Banner year for Harrison baseball | Substantial School

CLARKSBURG, W.Va. (WV News) — What a year for baseball in Harrison County.

A person condition winner. Two convention champions. Two sectional finalists.

It manufactured for pretty an remarkable team on the all-Harrison County squad.

Soon after winning his seventh straight condition title, and first in Class AAA, Bridgeport’s Robert Shields is the county mentor of the calendar year.

The Tribe also positioned catcher JD Really like, infielders Cam Cole (.413 batting ordinary, 2 HR, 25 RBI), Ryan Goff (.442, 4 HR, 37 RBI) and Frank Why, outfielder and WVSWA point out player of the year Nate Paulsen (.505, 4 HR, 55 RBI), pitcher Chris Harbert (6-2, 30 strikeouts, 3.24 Period) and utility Ben McDougal (6- pitching .444, 21 RBI) on the 1st workforce.

Robert C. Byrd, which won the Large 10 championship by tiebreaker thanks to beating Bridgeport in the video game that counted in the meeting standings, claimed a few spots: Infielder and Large 10 participant of the calendar year Xavier Lopez (.548, 10 HR, 52 RBI), outfielder and unanimous range Tanner Cook (.388, 7 HR, 31 RBI, 43 runs) and utility Nick George (.398, 8 HR, 42 RBI).

Lincoln put infielder and unanimous choice Brayden Arcuri (.535, 4 3B, 28 RBI, 28 SB), outfielder Jeremiah Carpenter (.434, 6 HR, 7 2B, 24 RBI) and pitcher Coby Gorby (7-1, 2 SV, 3.19 Period) on the first squad.

South Harrison, winners of the Minor Kanawha Conference tournament, experienced a pair of first-teamers, outfielder Logan Ross (.426, .563 OBP, 49 runs, 20 RBI, 32 SB) and pitcher Josh Thomaschek (6-3, 2.73 Era, 4 entire video games, 2 shutouts).

Liberty’s Matthew Hutson (.385, .481 OBP, 1.281 OPS) completes the initially crew as a utility.

The 2nd team is catcher Tommy Davis (South Harrison) infielders Jacob Fahey (Liberty), Zach Feathers (South Harrison), Payton Hawkins (Lincoln), Gene Hutchinson (Notre Dame) and Preston Heslep (Notre Dame) outfielders Andrew DeGarmo (Liberty), Drew Hogue (Bridgeport), Aidan Paulsen (Bridgeport) and Evan Warne (Robert C. Byrd) pitchers Nathaniel Junkins (Robert C. Byrd), Gabe Lopez (Notre Dame) and Austin Mann (Bridgeport) utilities Jace Bartley (Liberty), Max Harbert (Bridgeport) and Grant Lowther (Robert C. Byrd).

All stats are as of the start of the point out event.

The initially workforce players will be honored and the county player of the yr will be exposed at the annual BB&T (Now Truist)/Exponent Telegram Athletics Awards method on July 15 at the Robinson Grand Performing Arts Center.

The format for the method has been altered in section because of the pandemic, with a catered reception set for 5-6 p.m., and the awards shows starting at 6 p.m. Pre-registration is demanded.

University student-athletes being honored as effectively as head coaches, athletic administrators and principals of Harrison County’s six superior educational facilities are invited as the program’s friends.

Mom and dad and other supporters could also go to, with tickets priced at $15. Registration is expected by July 11. No tickets will be sold at the doorway.

To register, honored athletes, coaches, principals and athletic directors must go to:

To sign-up as a guardian, household member or admirer, be sure to go to:

Athletics editor Michael Minnich can be attained at 304-626-1441, by e-mail at [email protected], or on Twitter @michaelminnich.

Previous post 3 Ways To Honor (And Pass On) Traditions Through Food : Life Kit : NPR
Next post Instruction refugees in the culinary arts